Auto repair shop software: what it costs and how to choose
Published · Vendor facts checked · Locomotion Editorial Team
What auto repair shop software does
Whether buyers search for mechanic shop software, auto repair software, or shop management software, the core product holds the repair record from the first customer call to final payment and closeout. Across most platforms, that covers seven areas:
- Customers and vehicles. One record per customer and per vehicle, with service history attached to the VIN.
- Estimates and approvals. A priced estimate the customer can review and approve before teardown or repair work begins.
- The work board. Which repair is in which phase, which technician or builder holds it, and what blocker is holding the bay.
- Inspections and diagnostic evidence. Checklists, road-test telemetry, OBD-II trouble codes, and teardown photos attached to the job.
- Parts, inventory, and cores. Parts packets, purchase orders, receiving status, core tracking, and job costing.
- Invoicing and verification. Raising the invoice, recording or processing payments, and verifying the repair before release.
- Reporting. Throughput, bottlenecks, comeback tracking by transmission family, and financial reconciliation.
What auto repair shop software costs in October 2026
The table below lists published single-location prices read from each vendor's pricing page on 22 October 2026 (except Mitchell 1, whose store was read on 27 September 2026). Annual billing discounts apply at vendors that offer annual contracts. Quotes, promotions, payment processing rates, and taxes change the final invoice, so confirm the total in writing.
Mitchell 1 publishes its TeamWorks bundle on a 12-month lease and does not publish a stand-alone Manager SE price. For deeper breakdowns of how tier pricing and setup fees work, see our guide on AutoLeap pricing and plan comparisons.
| System | Entry plan (monthly) | Entry plan (annual) | Top published plan | Users | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tekmetric | $199 | $179 | $439 | Unlimited | tekmetric.com/pricing |
| Shopmonkey | $239 | $215 | $499 | 3 to 5, then $20 each | shopmonkey.io/pricing |
| Shop-Ware | $279 | $251 | $999 | Unlimited | shop-ware.com/packages |
| AutoLeap | $199 | $179 | $449 | Not stated | autoleap.com/pricing |
| Protractor | $399 | $359 | $1,299 | Not stated | protractorsoftware.com/pricing |
| Mitchell 1 (TeamWorks lease) | $348 | Not published | Quoted | $15 per additional user | buymitchell1.net (27 Sep 2026) |
| Locomotion OS | $149 (Intelligence) | Monthly only | $499 (Full OS) | Unlimited staff per location | locomotion.is/pricing |
How to choose auto repair shop software
Ask these five questions in order during a trial or live walkthrough. The first question determines more about day-to-day shop fit than the monthly subscription price.
- What is the primary record built around? General repair platforms center on the repair order: estimate, approval, labor lines, parts, invoice. That fits high-turn maintenance, brakes, and general mechanical work. If your highest-cost risk is a complex transmission or powertrain comeback, ask where the complaint, the decoded VIN, Analysis A/B hypotheses, and teardown findings live — and whether the system blocks invoicing until post-repair road-test verification passes.
- What is the complete monthly bill for your headcount? Count every technician, diagnostician, builder, parts specialist, and service writer. Add per-seat overages, two-way texting or voice modules, accounting sync fees, and setup charges.
- Can it run alongside your counter system or replace it cleanly? If your front counter already runs on Tekmetric, ask whether you have to rip and replace it on day one. Locomotion OS supports an additive two-way Tekmetric mirror: active Tekmetric work orders can be lazily adopted into a managed diagnosis case without destructive overwrites.
- How do parts and teardown discoveries stay organized? In transmission and unit-rebuild work, parts are rarely ordered in a single pass. Look for a staged parts matrix that distinguishes required items, likely needs, and teardown discoveries.
- How does your data move in and out? Before signing an annual contract, confirm that you can import historical repair records with a dry-run preview and export your shop records whenever you choose.
How Locomotion OS fits
Locomotion OS is built specifically for automotive transmission and specialty repair shops. Instead of treating diagnosis as a text note inside a general repair order, Locomotion makes the managed diagnosis case the primary product object — with a mandatory 17-character VIN decode gate, dual-stage advisory AI (Analysis A for initial symptom hypotheses and Analysis B for road-test and OBD-II scanner refinement), staged parts packets, and a mandatory post-repair verification gate before invoicing, delivery, and closeout.
Locomotion OS is offered in two editions per location per month: Intelligence at $149 USD (built to run alongside your existing shop system, including additive Tekmetric sync) and Full OS at $499 USD (complete diagnosis, assignments, bays, parts, estimates, invoicing, and verified delivery). Both include unlimited staff logins, unlimited stored cases, 1,000 completed Analysis A/B and refinement generations per month, and a 7-day card-on-file trial with no annual contract. Optional 24/7 AI telephone intake (Voice) is available as a separate $199 USD per location per month module.
Common questions
What is the best auto repair shop software?
There is no single best platform for every shop. General repair shops with high-volume maintenance counters usually compare Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, AutoLeap, Protractor, and Mitchell 1 based on counter workflow, labor guides, and total price after add-ons. Transmission, rebuild, and specialty diagnostic shops benefit from a diagnosis-first system like Locomotion OS that records structured evidence, runs advisory Analysis A/B, and enforces a post-repair verification gate before invoicing.
How much does auto repair shop software cost in 2026?
Published single-location entry prices range from $199/month (Tekmetric Start, AutoLeap Essentials) to $399/month (Protractor), with top published plans ranging from $439/month (Tekmetric Scale) to $1,299/month (Protractor Elite), read from each vendor's pricing page on 22 October 2026. Mitchell 1 lists its TeamWorks bundle at $348/month on a 12-month lease (27 September 2026). Locomotion OS is $149/month for Intelligence or $499/month for Full OS per location, with unlimited users and no annual contract.
Can Locomotion OS run alongside Tekmetric?
Yes. Locomotion OS Intelligence ($149 USD/location/month) and Full OS ($499 USD/location/month) support an additive two-way Tekmetric integration. Synced Tekmetric work orders remain untouched until your team explicitly adopts an active order into a Locomotion-managed diagnosis case.
What is the difference between auto repair shop software and shop management software?
In practice both terms describe software that manages estimates, work orders, parts, invoicing, and reporting. "Shop management software" usually emphasizes back-office modules — scheduling, inventory, accounting, and reporting — which we break down module by module in our shop management software guide.
Does Locomotion OS charge per user or require an annual contract?
No. Both Intelligence ($149 USD/month) and Full OS ($499 USD/month) are priced per location per month on a month-to-month basis and include unlimited staff users and unlimited stored cases.
Sources
- Tekmetric pricing (read 22 October 2026)
- Shopmonkey pricing (read 22 October 2026)
- Shop-Ware packages and pricing (read 22 October 2026)
- AutoLeap pricing and plans (read 22 October 2026)
- Protractor pricing (read 22 October 2026)
- Mitchell 1 online store: TeamWorks packages (read 27 September 2026)
- Locomotion OS pricing and plans
Read next
Auto repair shop management software, by module
Nine modules every shop management system is judged on, the test question for each, and how Locomotion OS works.
AutoLeap pricing in October 2026
Published plan tiers ($199, $349, $449), annual billing discounts, add-ons, and the one-time setup fee.
Locomotion OS pricing & FAQ
Compare Intelligence ($149/mo) and Full OS ($499/mo), Voice add-on terms, and start a 7-day trial.
Bring your last transmission comeback to a walkthrough.
See how Locomotion OS connects intake, Analysis A/B, parts staging, and post-repair verification — alongside Tekmetric or as your full shop OS.
